Connecticut Audbon Society

 

 

Christmas Bird Count 2020-21

There are 20 Christmas Bird Counts in Connecticut this season. Photo by Bob MacDonnell

December 5, 2020 — Tis the season for Christmas Bird Counts. Keep alert for French hens and turtle doves, and take extra time scrutinizing all the pear trees you might come upon. Here’s the schedule of CBC’s in Connecticut.

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2020
Storrs. Compiler:  Steve Morytko, 288 Varga Road, Ashford, CT 06278 smorytko@yahoo.com (M) 860-680-5728
(Natchaug Ornithological Society) 

SATURDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2020
New Haven. Compiler:  Chris Loscalzo, 67 Wepawaug Road, Woodbridge, CT 06525 closcalz@optonline.net 203-389-6508 
(New Haven Bird Club) 

Woodbury-Roxbury.  Compiler:  Ken Elkins, Audubon Center at Bent of the River, 185 East Flat Hill Road, Southbury, CT 06488 kelkins@audubon.org, 203-623-6625. (Western Connecticut Bird Club)

SUNDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2020
Greenwich-Stamford. Compiler:  Cynthia Ehlinger, 27A Sheephill Road, Riverside, CT 06878 cynthia.ehlinger@gmail.com 203-219-1963. (Audubon Greenwich)

Hartford. Compiler:  Jay Kaplan, 71 Gracey Road, Canton, CT 06019. jaybrd49@aol.com 860-693-0157 (H), 860-707-5246 (cell).(Hartford Audubon Society)

Litchfield Hills. Compiler:  Raymond E. Belding, 1229 Winsted Road #30, Torrington, CT 06790 hoatzin1@optonline.net 860-482-4046. (Litchfield Hills Audubon Society)

Lakeville-Sharon. Compiler:  Zachary Adams. za4250@hotmail.com  Sharon Audubon Center/National Audubon Society, 325 Cornwall Bridge Road, Sharon, CT 06069 http://sharon.audubon.org/. 860-364-0520 or 717-926-3926

Oxford. Roy Harvey, 320 South Meriden Road, Cheshire, CT 06410-2962 rmharvey@snet.net 203-651-9818 (cell)

Quinnipiac Valley. Compilers:  Melissa Baston, mbaston@gmail.com. 860-995-0656 and Corrie Folsom-O’Keefe, cfolsom.okeefe@audubon.org. 203-233-0535. (Quinnipiac Valley Audubon Society)

Salmon River. Compilers:  Sharon Dellinger, rsdell@comcast.net  860-803-1626, and Doreen Jezek, dajezek@gmail.com 859-492-1656 (Mattabeseck Audubon Society)

Westport. Compilers: Mardi and Townsend Dickinson, 20 Blake Street, Norwalk, CT 06851-3007 mardi1d@gmail.com 203-846-0359 and http://kymrygroup.com (Kymry Group) (Connecticut Audubon Society Birdcraft Sanctuary)

SATURDAY, DECEMBER 26, 2020
Barkhamsted. Compiler:  David Tripp, Jr., 97 Hunter Court, Torrington, CT 06790 dtrippjr@gmail.com (Litchfield Hills Audubon Society)

SUNDAY, DECEMBER 27, 2020
Napatree, RI-CT-NY. Compilers: Shai Mitra, Biology Department, College of Staten Island, 2800 Victory Blvd, Staten Island, NY 10314 shaibal.Mitra@csi.cuny.edu and Glenn Williams, 221 Pequot Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355 gswilliams9@yahoo.com

Norwich. Compiler:  Allison Black, NorwichCBC@gmail.com, 860-334-9959

Stratford-Milford. Compiler:  Steve Mayo, 27 Tuttle Court, Bethany, CT 06524 rsdmayo@sbcglobal.net 203-551-1707

FRIDAY, JANUARY 1, 2021
Pawling (Hidden Valley), NY/CT. Compilers:  Carena Pooth, carena@prodigy.net and Angela Dimmitt, P.O. Box 146, Sherman, CT 06784 angeladimmitt@aol.com, 860-355-3429. (Ralph T. Waterman Bird Club)  

SATURDAY, JANUARY 2, 2021
Bristol. Compiler:  Jack Swatt, 226 Long Swamp Road, Wolcott, CT 06716 . jswattbirds@gmail.com 203-592-4686

New London. Compiler:  Robert Dewire, 9 Canary Lane, Pawcatuck, CT 06379 robertdewire9@comcast.net 860-599-3085

SUNDAY, JANUARY 3, 2021

Edwin Way Teale, Trail Wood Sanctuary, Hampton. Compiler:  Sue Harrington, 28D Anton Road, Storrs, CT 06268 hoopoe@sbcglobal.net 860-429-6257. (Natchaug Ornithological Society)

Old Lyme-Saybrook. Compiler: Matt Bell, mbell@ctaudubon.org

 

 

 

 

 

Follow Us Facebook Twitter Instagram